The Internship

The seven weeks passed by quickly. Seventy hours gone, in a flash. It’s been a rewarding experience. I’ve been able to apply some of my recently acquired accounting skills and I’ve learned a bit about what it’s like to work in a professional atmosphere within the field of finance.

 

My first few weeks were spent organizing binders of plant assets bought in the last few years and filing. There was a lot of filing and organizing; two things that I happen to be very good at. My supervisor liked my work and how quickly I was getting things done. He then had me take the information from the binders that I created to make charts calculating the depreciation of the company’s plant assets bought in each year. It started out simple, like the source documents that I was using, and then we tweaked the charts to include everything that was needed for the company’s records. After these charts were complete, I started adding the information to another chart and adjusting it. On the last day of my internship, I was included in the lunch meeting of the Accounting and Billing staff. They included a bit of my work in the meeting, and said that I had done a very good job. They also said that they would miss me, and if a position opened up, I would be at the top of their list.

 

Depending on your knowledge of accounting, you may or may not know what exactly it is that I did. But the point is that I went into a workplace and I excelled. My co-workers liked me and appreciated the work that I did. For that, I’m very happy. It’s always nerve-wracking to walk into something that you know little about. I wasn’t sure what they would expect of me. I wasn’t sure how much of what I had learned would be applied. I wasn’t sure that I had learned everything that they might want me to do. But I did it! And it’s a relief to know that I exceeded their expectations. It was a good experience, but I have more to learn and another internship to do.

 

Surprisingly, at the end of the day, I was asked to come back in Monday morning. They are offering me a part time job in their billing department, and want to discuss the details with me. I’m very excited. I can’t wait to learn what they have for me to do.

 

It’s exciting to do something that could be scary and do well in spite of your fears. Just remember: if I can do it, so can you!

 

 

Ecstatic,

Allie.

A Penny For Your Thoughts....

