Returning Home

Today was my first time being home since going to Job Corps. It generates mixed feelings. I get to what used to be my room, the one that I shared with my sister, and everything has been rearranged. My sister has moved all the furniture. Things are not as I left them. The drawers that I requested be left empty for when I visit were filled with things not my own. And I find it hard to adjust to what used to be my room, what used to be a constant (even when I would leave and come back), is now almost completely foreign. Writing this, I feel like I’m almost complaining. I’m not. I’m just not used to this. I used to have a place for all of my belongings in my room, and I now find myself a visitor, living out of the bag of clothes that I brought back with me. Everything is an adjustment. I’ll just have to adjust.

The reality is, I don’t live in my parent’s house anymore.
The reality is, my “home” is the place that I reside, the Job Corps Campus.
The reality is, with the way I’m planning things, this house will possibly never again be my “home”.

This small experience serves to teach a huge lesson to those with AS. Things are going to change. Whether it’s dramatic or almost insignificant, it’s going to happen. It’s perfectly alright to be a little flustered at first, but you have to adjust to it. The world isn’t going to turn back around and make things return to the way that they were for you. The world is going to change and progress, and so should you! I finally got up and moved myself into a place where I know I’ll do well. To a place where I know I will do something with myself, be more successful than I’ve ever been, and go places. I don’t have to stay in California. I can go anywhere I want and do anything I set my mind to. I just have to adjust.

Glancing at Reality,
Allie.

3 thoughts on “Returning Home

  1. Well written, shows a good deal of growth, maturity, and resolution.
    I understand the shock of walking in to find a big change. Just liike my shock this morning when I read Facebook and saw that you changed your home city to San Jose. I wasn’t expecting that…yet, there it was. I’m proud of the positive way you use your blog to work through things. I’m also glad you’re home for a few days!

    • Mom,

      After I wrote this post, I decided to change it to help me in adjusting to it, because I do live in San Jose. The more I say it, the easier it is to say. I’m glad to be home for a few days too. Thank you.

      Love,
      Allie.

      • We miss you and will definitely miss your presence and your help after Dad’s surgery this week. Keep doing the right things up there in SJ, we’re proud of you!

A Penny For Your Thoughts....

