Terrible Blogger

I am a terrible blogger. I’ve left you, my readers, without any material for months! Because it is natural for people to make excuses and blame other things for something that they feel guilty about, I have a short list of excuses prepared:

*I’ve been busy.
*I haven’t had anything to write about.
*I’ve been tired.
*I’ve been all over the place (work, school, traveling).
*I felt guilty about not writing, so I avoided wordpress altogether.
*I’ve been too emotionally jumbled up to make any sense.

In the end, none of the excuses will actually excuse me for the sin of my neglect. If this blog were a goldfish, it would be dead and another creature would be growing out of it. And that’s gross. So, my sincerest apologies to my audience. I’m sorry that I’ve been absent, again. I’m also sorry that I cannot promise I will be more faithful about writing in the future. I assume, if you’re not all shunning me for being a terrible blogger, that you would like to get an update on everything that’s been going on in the world of Allie. Here goes.

I applied for Job Corps again in January, but admissions were shut down right as I was about to be accepted into the program. That was a disappointment, but I still had my job.

Unintentionally, I followed the tradition of women changing their looks after a breakup. For some, it’s diet and exercise or clothing style. For others, it’s hair and makeup. For me, it was the hair. I went from long blonde hair with red at the tips to long, deep auburn hair. The auburn faded fairly quickly into a strawberry blonde. I cut off my long hair, and pray every day for my hair to be blonde again. While it was an experience I do not regret, I don’t think I will dye my hair again. In the end, I’m more happy just being me and just looking like me.

I started working as a caregiver for an elderly lady. In order to care for her, I had to deal with pricking her finger to check her blood sugar multiple times a day and giving her shots of insulin depending on her blood sugar. At first, it made me really nervous because I like neither blood nor needles. After a few days, I was pricking her finger and administering insulin like I had been doing it for years. It just goes to show that you can do anything you put your mind to.

I visited a childhood friend that lives in New Jersey. We get along great. Even more so than when we were children. Let’s just call him “The Greek”. I stayed with The Greek and his mom for two weeks. Those two weeks were filled with many wonderful things. Activities such as fishing, BBQ’s, Greek Orthodox Easter, shopping, Six Flags, indoor surfing, go-cart racing, laser tag, and more. It was the best vacation I’ve been on in my short life, but not because of all the things I did. It’s because of the people I was with. I was treated very well, with much love. Even on the few days that The Greek was sick (poor guy, felt so bad about being sick while I was there), I enjoyed being there. I did my best to take care of him while he wasn’t feeling well, because I would have gone partially insane had I not been able to help at all. In turn, he did his best to take care of me when I got a small sunburn. The Greek is a very caring and sweet friend, and I feel completely comfortable being myself when I’m with him. The Greek has been a big help in bringing me back to “the light” after the breakup. He’s made me smile, he’s made me laugh, and he’s made me feel loved. In truth, The Greek has always been there, and he’s always made me forget all of my worries. Plus, he thinks I’m cute. I’ll save the sappy story of our friendship/relationship/(whatever it is?) for another post because it would take too long to explain, but I want very much to spend much more time with him. It’s difficult to do so, considering that he lives on the other end of the country, but I plan to make it out there again some day soon. And, since I pride myself in being honest with you, my readers, I will admit that I like The Greek very much. Very much.

007 (5)

Right after I got back from my vacation in New Jersey, admissions at Job Corps opened up again, and I was scheduled for a secondary interview. At the interview, I filled out some more paperwork and updated information. Before leaving, I was told that I would receive a call as soon as they had reviewed my file. A few weeks later, I answered the phone and was told that I was accepted into the program. Upon being asked when I wanted to start, I informed them that “ASAP” would be to my preference. I went to a pre-arrival tour of the campus, where I will be living, and it looks nice and clean. My start date is June 18th. I’ve spent the last week packing all my things that I am not taking with me into boxes and stashing them in the shed in the back yard with my empty furniture. It’s both exciting and scary. I’m going to a new place, with new people, and I’ll be going to classes instead of work. I will be living away from the family that I’ve been with my entire life. Even though all the newness is a bit daunting, I feel like I’m finally moving on and doing something with myself.

Oh! And my 20th birthday is tomorrow. No more are the teen years.

As for my journey with Asperger Syndrome and the growth I’ve experienced with it, I’ve just become more patient with change and situations I can’t control. Travel has made me accustomed to adjusting to different surroundings and social situations. I’m not where I want to be yet, but I “keep moving forward” (like in Meet The Robinsons).

Changing,
Allie.

One thought on “Terrible Blogger

  1. Very well done post. Since you are off visiting friends on your last day here, and I sometimes need to write things down while I am thinking of them (or I will forget them before I can address them) you are getting a note from Mom. Just a little something to start wrapping your head around before you head off to Campus Life; dorm chores. You prefer to work alone. You will have to work together with fellow students. You can do it! You’ll have an easier time making the adjustment if you start thinking about it before it happens. I’m proud of you! You will do well! You will never have more freedom of time to persue an education for yourself and the family you will have someday, than you do right now. Take advantage of the time you have on your hands. Do not rush to be finished so you can start “life.” “Life” has already begun, it is what you are doing right now. So many people, in hind sight, have so many regrets about the things that they missed out on (mostly things that were all round them) while they were on the lookout for something more exciting! Don’t be that person. Take advantage of the blessing from God of the opportunity of “here & now” to give yourself the most well rounded start possible. It is a gift that will give you long-lasting contentment. It is a gift of investment: a more content future employee, future spouse, future parent. Be mindful and intentional about how you spend your gift of “here & now” for it will pay you and yours back for a lifetime. Walk with God. Cling to and build upon the firm foundation only Christ can offer. Know that you are loved and will be missed.

A Penny For Your Thoughts....

