Mothers: Past and Future

My mom. I love that woman dearly.
My mom. One of the most important people in my life.
My mom. I have no clue where I’d be without her.
My mom. The one that first diagnosed me with AS.
My mom. The one that’s held my hand through the rough times.
My mom. The steady, calm, patient one that raised me. (That poor woman.)
My mom. The source of comfort and wisdom.

My mom.
Teacher.
Confidant.
Mentor.
Parent.
Disciplinarian.
Coach.
Adviser.

I was raised by a good woman. She’s everything that a mother should be. She was a stay at home mom for most of my life. I grew up knowing that my mom was always there for me. No matter what, she was there. Now that I’m an adult, she is supportive of all that I do. My babysitting jobs, cleaning jobs, volunteer work, etc. She is everything that I need.

My grandma. The one that makes the best food ever.
My grandma. One of the most important people in my life.
My grandma. The one that I have tea with once a week.
My grandma. The one that spoils me.
My grandma. The one that listens to everything I have to say.
My grandma. The patient one that raised my mother (and her 6 siblings. That poor woman.)
My grandma. The source of comfort and wisdom.

My grandma.
Teacher.
Confidant.
Mentor.
Coach.
Adviser.
Comforter.
Lifeline.

My mother was raised by a good woman who, in turn, helped to raise me. She’s everything that a grandma should be. She has run a store and campground with my grandpa for longer than I’ve been alive. I grew up knowing that my grandma was there for me whenever I needed her. I grew up knowing that, while she was more lenient than my mother, she was not afraid to discipline me when needed. Now that I’m an adult, she’s supportive of all that I do and she’s proud of the woman I’ve grown into.

I am very proud of the line of strong women and mothers that I come from. These women have helped me to survive and to thrive in a seemingly alien world. I hope that one day I’ll be as good a mother to my children. Because AS is genetic, there’s a possibility that one of my kids will have AS. If one does, I’ll just have to be prepared and do my best. One step at a time, day by day. The same way that my mom did.

Thank you mom for everything you’ve done and what you will do. Thank you for making me strong and confidant. Thank you for loving me unconditionally. Thank you for everything.

Your Little Girl,
Allie. ❤

2 thoughts on “Mothers: Past and Future

A Penny For Your Thoughts....

