Unusual

I know that I normally write long paragraphs about serious things, but I needed to share my joy with you guys really quickly. Something unusual happened to me. You already know that I go to Bible studies with my “brothers.” Last Sunday, I went to one and an interesting conversation happened between my “brothers” and I on the way home.

Brother #1: “So who all were you talking to, Ms. Social Butterfly?”
Me: “Wait. What? Me? Social Butterfly?”
Brother #2: “Yea. You were talking to a group of people and they were captivated by you. What were you talking about?”
Me: “Just normal stuff. Work. Family. School. Really?”
Brother #1: “Yea. Really.”
Brother #2: “What were their names?”
Me: “I don’t remember” ( <—- Feeling like an idiot for not remembering.)
{And the conversation continues.}

This was the first time in my life that I remember those two simple words being used to describe me. Social Butterfly. It came as such a shock that I was doing well socially. I was engaging strangers in conversation that held their attention without them thinking that I was strange. Not only that, but it was a group of people. At the time, I was just trying to be polite and follow the social rules that I’ve learned.

So, I’ve compiled a list of rules that I follow.
1 – Observe people. What they’re talking about and how they react to certain topics. Observing, however, does not mean that you can be rude and ignore people that try to start conversations with you.
2 – To start a conversation, compliment something (clothing, hair, eyes, etc.) because people love to hear that someone likes how they look.
3 – To keep a conversation going, ask a question that requires more than a “yes” or “no” answer because people love to talk about themselves.
4 – Ask questions that are relevant to them, but that you can also relate to.
5 – Safe topics include work, school, family, childhood homes, and the weather.
6 – People like to know that they have your attention when they are talking to you, so look them in the eye. (If this is too difficult, look at their lips, forehead, or nose.)
7 – When you can feel an awkward silence coming up, change the subject or excuse yourself to the bathroom. Changing the subject may give you the label “random” but it will almost never give you the label “awkward.”

When I can think of more, I’ll update this post. If you have anything you want to add, feel free to comment below!

Happy,
Allie.

One thought on “Unusual

A Penny For Your Thoughts....

