Questions?

Recently, my family rented a movie, Temple Grandin, and for the first time, my little sisters expressed an interest in Autism. When watching this movie, my sister’s asked questions like: “Do you see things that way?” and “Allison, do you feel like that sometimes. They made comments like: “You’re not that bad.”, “I can see how you act like that sometimes.”, and “Allison, you’re the opposite of that.” I sat there trying to explain the differences between myself and Dr. Temple Grandin.

(Dr. Temple Grandin:
On top of writing articles on livestock handling, changing the world of cattle ranching, and receiving a PhD, she also changed the world of autism forever.
BA: Psychology at Franklin Pierce College, Masters: Animal Science at Arizona State University, and PhD: Animal Science at University of Illinois at Urbarra-Champaign.
Publications:
• Emergence: Labeled Autistic
• The Learning Style of People With Autism: An Autobiography
• Developing Talents: Careers for Individuals with Asperger Syndrome and High-Functioning Autism
• Animals in Translation: Using the Mysteries of Autism to Decode Animal Behavior
• The unwritten Rules of social Relationships: Decoding Social Mysteries Through the Unique Perspective of Autism
• The Way I See it: A Personal Look at Autism and Asperger Syndrome
• Animals Make us Human: Creating the Best Life for Animals)

High-Functioning Autism (HFA) and Asperger Syndrome (AS), though very similar, are considered different disorders. I have AS and Dr. Grandin has HFA. Because of similarities, people with HFA and people with AS are often grouped together and dealt with in similar manners. The high-functioning autism spectrum disorders include:
High-functioning autism: The child fits the definition of autism but has normal cognitive and learning abilities. The child may initially have had difficulty acquiring language, but eventually was able to speak at a level close to what is expected for his or her age.
Asperger syndrome: The child is similar to those with high-functioning autism, but has fewer symptoms and had little or no difficulty developing language

My family, including my sisters, has known about my AS for years, but I don’t think that my sisters realized just how big the world of HFA-AS is. It’s more than “Oh, Allison just acts that way because of her AS.” Since my little sisters, one 15 year old and two 13 year olds, had questions for me, I figured that their questions are similar to what other people ask when they are first really learning about what HFA-AS is like.
So, this post is my way of asking my readers to comment with any questions they have below or e-mail their questions to me at allie_shrimp_000@yahoo.com. I will use your questions to do a Q&A post. Thank you so much for your support.

Always,
Allie.

8 thoughts on “Questions?

  1. thank you for being open to questions.
    I’ve heard that it’s hard to read social cues. Is it the same with emotions? Can you feel or read the emotions in others, or is that hard to read, too?

  2. I met Temple Grandin a couple of years ago at a book signing and she definitely does not have Asperger’s. There is a huge difference between Asperger’s and HFA! She was very gracious and when I told her my son has Asperger’s her first question was “Has he learned to control himself yet?” I told her he is working on it, and she said “Good.” Thanks for writing in your blog. Like Temple you are bringing awareness to autism and the spectrum disorders, and it is always interesting to read from your point of view 😀 .

  3. With havin so much content do you ever run into any problems of plagorism or copyright violation? My website has a lot of exclusive content I’ve either authored myself or outsourced but it appears a lot of it is popping it up all over the web without my authorization. Do you know any solutions to help reduce content from being stolen? I’d certainly appreciate it.

  4. I genuinely like this weblog internet site, will surely come back once again. Make confident you carry on creating quality content material articles. 547239

A Penny For Your Thoughts....

