Love <8


As you may have noticed, instead of using the symbols < and 3 in the title to make a heart, I used the symbols < and 8. No. It’s not a typo. It’s symbolism. It was done on purpose to make a point. The point that an Aspies love, though it may not be conventional, obvious, or easy, is just as real as conventional love.

According to professionals, a common trait among those with Asperger Syndrome is a “lack of empathy and emotion.” As you may have noticed, the words lack of empathy and emotion are in quotation marks. I did this because I don’t believe that the word “lack” is fitting. It implies that Aspies are completely incapable of these two things, but that is wholly incorrect. I believe that it would be more appropriate to say that some Aspies find it difficult or don’t know how to properly show empathy and emotion.

Empathy: the action of understanding, being aware of, being sensitive to, and vicariously experiencing the feelings, thoughts, and experiences of another. Sometimes Aspies don’t notice how people are feeling. Some Aspies find it hard to read people’s emotions. Some Aspies just don’t know how to express how they’re feeling. Some Aspies feel a great amount of empathy, but aren’t able to appropriately express it. Some Aspies feel or don’t feel empathy depending on the person or thing. Everyone is capable of feeling empathy, even those with AS.

Emotion: a conscious mental reaction subjectively experienced as strong feeling usually directed toward a specific object and typically accompanied by physiological and behavioral changes in the body. When people read about AS, it gives the impression that Aspies, because they show little to no emotion, feel less intense emotions than “normal” people. Aspies actually feel very strong emotions. The issue with emotions is not in feeling them, but describing them and understanding why they are felt. Everyone is capable of feeling emotion, even those with AS.

I feel emotions in extremes. I know, even if it takes a little while to figure it out, what emotion I’m feeling. I know, even if it takes a little deliberation, how to put my emotions into words. I feel empathy and show empathy in the best way I know possible. I do still find that I don’t know what to do in some situations, but it comes easier now than it did when I was younger. My social skills, though they may not be perfect, have much improved. In the case of my social skills, practice has made more perfect. This is possible for all Aspies. If I can do it, so can you.

Love,
Allie.

11 thoughts on “Love <8

  1. Hello my name is dave and I have really enjoyed reading your blogs. I too am an aspie and took me many years after they diagnose me to accept it. I can’t say that I am quite comfortable with it yet because of some the behavioral problems and just my inability too keep long term friendships. I love what I read hear and the first one these I read I cried because my life has been on big ? even after I accept it and embraced the fact that I had it and I could relate to a lot of your blogs and was comforted by the fact that there is someone out there who wants to help. I do too aand that is why I like to go and get my psyche degree and get in a place where I can really be of service to those who lives have been a strange ride and they do not know why. I really glad to read what I have from you and it means a lot to aspie like me who has never really had anyone. Thank you. If you r comfortable I like to hear from you so I will leave my email which is rastachucker0@gmail.com. Anyway take care

  2. Great article! I loved the knowledge and the information given . Further, your blogging style is very pleasing to read. If you have time please check out my new webpage and let me know what you think.

  3. I just want to mention I’m all new to weblog and truly enjoyed this blog. Likely I’m want to bookmark your website . You amazingly have tremendous articles and reviews. Thanks a bunch for revealing your website.

  4. Very well-said and appreciated, Allie. Thanks for explaining that. My son has autism and I know he just isn’t able to express how he feels all of the time, but he absolutely has feelings as deep and strong as anyone. I hope this post is read far and wide. Thanks, Allie.

  5. Beautifully put; and well argued. I shall certainly be a follower.

    There seems to be a blind spot amongst researchers in that they ascribe a lack of empathy/emotion where the difference is not how we respond but what we respond to.

    Indeed I would say that we feel much more strongly; to the point of overload, even to the point of shutting down.

  6. Pingback: Sympathetic Crier | thatawkwardkid93

  7. What you find as an Aspie is that providing you don’t go under – the older you get – the better actor you become. What you say about empathy and emotions ties in with my experiences exactly.

A Penny For Your Thoughts....

